Last updated: 13 October 2026. Marketplace and press figures were checked on 7 July 2026; garage, FixMyCar and ClickMechanic figures on 13 October 2026.
Replacing the wet belt on a 1.2 PureTech costs £714 on average for a Peugeot 208 (FixMyCar marketplace data), and UK garages that publish a price for this engine quote roughly £580–£900 (2026 prices).
Before paying anything, check the Stellantis warranty extension below. Many PureTech belt jobs are now covered for up to 10 years.
Price basis: figures are shown as the named sources publish them. Where a source states whether VAT is included we say so; where it does not, treat the figure as indicative and ask for a VAT-inclusive quote. Garages often quote without VAT, so 20% may be added to the bill. We label estimates, marketplace averages and real invoices separately — why that distinction matters.
1.2 PureTech wet belt cost by car
| Car | Typical price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Peugeot 208 (wet belt, marketplace average) | £714 | FixMyCar |
| Peugeot (all models, wet belt average) | £706 | FixMyCar |
| Citroën (all models, wet belt average) | £724 | FixMyCar |
| Citroën C4 Cactus (wet belt average) | £677 | FixMyCar |
| 1.2 PureTech, fixed price with new sump pan and oil strainer clean (Stevenage garage) | £580 inc. VAT | TGPP-Autocare |
| 1.2 PureTech, parts and labour with genuine parts (Halesowen garage) | £850 (VAT not stated) | Shephards Motors |
| 1.2 PureTech wet belt replacement (Peterborough garage) | £660–£760 (VAT not stated) | HBM Motor Garage |
| Vauxhall wet belt replacement, routine (Cardiff garage) | from £750 + VAT (£900 inc. VAT) | A1 Diagnostics |
In July 2026 we found no Corsa-specific 1.2 PureTech price. Four UK garages publish one now, and none is Corsa-only: they quote the PureTech engine, and one is a Vauxhall page. Where the VAT basis is stated they run from £580 inc. VAT to £900 inc. VAT (£750 + VAT); two garages do not say. What is included explains most of the spread: the £580 is a fixed price with a new sump pan and an oil strainer clean, the £850 specifies genuine parts. HBM publishes £660–£760 for the job and £750–£1,000 in its table of typical independent costs on the same page, a reminder that these are advertised prices, not invoices. Two content sites circulate a £450–£850 range; we do not use it, because neither is a garage and we could not trace it to an invoice. Ask any quote whether the sump pan and oil strainer are included. For context, generic cambelt averages cover every engine, not just the PureTech: £349 for a Corsa on ClickMechanic and £681 across Vauxhalls on FixMyCar this month (October 2026). ClickMechanic’s Peugeot 208 timing-belt page shows £442 against £700 at a franchise dealer, but its per-engine tables do not price the 1.2 PureTech.
Check the Stellantis warranty before you pay
Stellantis (which owns Peugeot, Citroën, Vauxhall and DS) has officially extended cover for earlier-generation 1.0 and 1.2 PureTech engines: 100% of parts and labour for up to 10 years or 112,000 miles. It also runs a compensation platform for owners who paid for repairs caused by premature belt degradation or excessive oil consumption between January 2022 and December 2024, via stellantis-support.com. If your car qualifies, the wet belt job on this page may cost you nothing: ask your dealer to check before booking an independent.
Why the PureTech belt became infamous
The belt runs inside the engine in oil, and on earlier PureTech generations it degraded faster than designed. Honest John’s guide, as read on 7 July, gives a chemical explanation: old oil turns acidic and literally eats the belt, shedding rubber that clogs the oil pickup. GEM Motoring Assist documents the consequences: fragments reaching the oil pump can cause loss of oil pressure and even reduce vacuum-pump effectiveness, weakening braking assistance. That history is why the interval was cut, why an annual inspection was added, and why the AA’s advice to use exactly the specified oil grade matters more on this engine than most.
The interval was cut: check your schedule
The PureTech wet belt interval is now 6 years or around 60,000–62,000 miles, down from the original schedule (confirmed by GEM Motoring Assist, Honest John and HBM Motor Garage) and GEM notes an annual belt inspection was added on top. If you bought the car on the old schedule, you may be overdue without knowing it.
How the PureTech bill splits
Nobody publishes labour hours specifically for the 1.2 PureTech belt, but comparable jobs give the picture: ClickMechanic lists 2–6 hours across Peugeot 208 variants and an average of 2.7 hours across Vauxhall cambelt jobs, while wet belt work generally runs 8–12 hours on FixMyCar when oil-system cleaning is needed. UK garage labour runs £40–£80 per hour (Checkatrade and FixMyCar), with rates in cities and London towards the top of that band. As with the Ford wet belt, the belt kit is a minor part of the bill. The hours are the cost, and finding rubber debris in the sump is what adds them.
What decides the price of a PureTech belt
- Warranty eligibility: the Stellantis extension can take the bill to zero; always check first.
- Oil contamination: degraded belt material in the sump adds cleaning hours.
- Independent vs dealer: HBM Motor Garage’s table puts a PureTech job at £750–£1,000 independent and £1,200+ at a main dealer; ClickMechanic’s 208 page shows a 36% dealer premium.
- Oil grade history: the AA warns the wrong oil degrades a wet belt prematurely; a patchy history can mean more remedial work.
- Location: garage labour typically runs £40–£80 per hour across the UK, averaging about £60 (Checkatrade), so the same job costs more where rates sit at the top of that band.
Frequently asked questions
Which cars have the 1.2 PureTech wet belt?
Earlier-generation 1.0 and 1.2 PureTech engines across Peugeot (108, 208, 308, 3008, 5008, Partner, Rifter), Citroën (C1, C3, C4, C5 Aircross, Berlingo), Vauxhall (Corsa F, Astra, Crossland, Grandland, Combo), DS and even the Toyota Proace and Aygo. See our full engine list for details.
Will Stellantis pay for my wet belt?
Possibly. The official extension covers 100% of parts and labour up to 10 years or 112,000 miles on affected earlier-generation PureTech engines, and a compensation platform exists for qualifying repairs paid between January 2022 and December 2024.
How often should the PureTech belt be changed?
Every 6 years or roughly 60,000–62,000 miles under the revised guidance, with an annual inspection: markedly shorter than the original schedule.
What are the warning signs of PureTech belt wear?
A low oil pressure warning, rattling on cold start, the engine management light and rubber debris in the oil filter. If you see any of these, stop driving and get the belt inspected.
Related guides
- All timing belt and cambelt cost guides
- Wet belt replacement cost in the UK
- Wet belt replacement intervals explained
Sources: FixMyCar wet belt cost guide, Honest John wet belt guide (page since moved), Stellantis UK official announcement, ClickMechanic Peugeot 208 estimates, GEM Motoring Assist and The AA, plus garage prices from TGPP-Autocare, Shephards Motors, HBM Motor Garage and A1 Diagnostics. Garage, FixMyCar, ClickMechanic and GEM figures were checked on 13 October 2026, The AA on 7 July 2026. Honest John’s guide has moved to drive.co.uk and could not be re-checked; the Stellantis announcement blocked our check on 13 October, so its warranty terms are as read on 7 July. Labour-rate band: Checkatrade mechanic hourly rates, checked 14 October 2026. Corsa cambelt figure from the ClickMechanic Vauxhall cambelt estimates, checked 14 October 2026. See how we verify prices.